Walking the Puppy

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9).

Having a new puppy is an exciting adventure! Puppies are so cute—and so full of energy. We were given a puppy a few short months ago and it did not take long for Ava (that’s her name) to weasel her way into our hearts and become the sixth member of our family. Of course, one of the needful events in a puppy’s day is a walk. Our puppy loves to go for a walk, but Ava’s definition of a walk is very different from mine.
When we go for a walk, I want Ava to walk beside me, very well-behaved, and not tugging on the leash. Ava is so excited to be out that she wants to sniff every blade of grass, and bark at every bird she can find. She growls at the trash truck, she wags her tail for each of our neighbors that she can spot and she would run like the wind if I allowed her. I think she believes that she could “take” that trash truck and that she must somehow protect me from our shadows as we walk. Sometimes, she pulls so hard on the leash that she begins to choke and cough. At these times, I have to stop and sit her down and remind her that she is to be walking beside me, not running ahead of me.
It dawned on me this morning that I do the same thing to my Heavenly Father that Ava does to me. God wants me to walk beside Him and enjoy the time with Him, but I’m so busy running from one thing to another that I miss the most important part—being with Him. Sometimes, He has to stop, sit me down and remind me that He is in charge of this journey, not me. He lovingly does so because He knows it is not best for me to think that I am in charge. He knows that the trash truck of life is way bigger than I can handle and in love, He pulls me back into the protection of His presence.
So the next time you take your puppy for a walk, you might want to ask yourself, “Am I walking with God, or running ahead of Him?” I know I will take a moment to check and see where I am walking too!
Thought provoker: Is there some area of your life that you are running ahead of God? Slow down, wait on His timing and enjoy the journey!

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walking the Puppy

  1. Lisa Hackney says:

    Love it Tammy! You are simply amazing! Look forward to reading them.

  2. Cher Younger says:

    How true! How true! When we walk in the presence of God – instead of trying to run ahead of him – how much more enjoyable is the walk. You are such an encouragement!

  3. Charity N. Chandler says:

    mom keep up the good work. I always love your devotions keep writing more . I would like to know when you are publishing your book.

Leave a Reply

