Why, Shepherd?

“Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honor and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ: Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see Him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory: Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls” (I Peter 1:5-9).

Frustrated and hurting, I asked the Shepherd, “Why did you let this tragedy happen to me?” I waited. He answered.
“Because I wanted you to come close by My side.”
I listened. I thought, and then I said, “Why not touch some other area of my life. Why this?”
He said, “I knew which leg to break so you couldn’t stand on your own.”
“But I am no good to You like this!” I cried. He smiled, pulled me close to His chest, and said, “My child–you are of more use to Me crippled and close by, than you ever would be on the mountains alone.”
“I don’t understand,” was all I could say.
“When you wander away in self-confidence and pride you are alone, and you are no good to Me, or the flock. But when you are close to Me and dependent on My strength, you show the flock My love is powerful and My care is good.”
“So You’d rather I be like this?” I accused.
“No, My child. My favorite times are when you walk with Me, but I love you so much I will carry you until those times come again.”
Weeping now, I buried my head in His chest and said, “Thank you.”
He understood.

Thought provoker: Are you going through a time of brokenness? Are you learning to depend on the Good Shepherd, Jesus? Thank Him that He loves you enough to hold you close!

Take a moment to stop and truly be grateful for what the Lord is working in your life today. He is only a heart’s whisper away, and He can’t wait to hear from you.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why, Shepherd?

  1. Kim S says:

    “He is only a heart’s whisper away.” Love that. 🙂 Have you read “Hinds Feet on High Places?” All about the Shepherd walking with his daughter in her journey of questioning faith, trials, mountains and valleys. I don’t recommend any of Hurnard’s other books because she veered wildly off course in her later life, but this first work is amazing. I don’t normally read fiction, but I got lost in it and couldn’t put it down. I have lots of copies and will bring you one next week if you want.

Leave a Reply

