Eighteen Inches

“And which of you with taking thought can add to his stature one cubit? If ye then be not able to do that thing which is least, why take ye thought for the rest? Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. If then God so clothe the grass, which is to day in the field, and tomorrow is cast into the oven; how much more will he clothe you, O ye of little faith?” Luke 12:25-28

Ok, I admit it. I am vertically challenged. Being just over five foot tall, I am not able to reach the dishes on the top shelf in my kitchen or grab a cereal box from the top shelf of the grocery store without a little help. Would I like to be taller? Would it be easier, more convenient and efficient if I were just over six feet tall instead of five? On those occasions when I have to ask for help to reach something, maybe, but being short also has its advantages. I can fit into smaller spaces and I don’t have to worry about hitting my head on a low tree limb when mowing the lawn. I also have more head room in the car, even though I do have to pull the seat up close to the steering wheel, and I can sleep on a love seat or a double bed without my feet hanging off, just to name a few.

One cubit. Eighteen inches. If I could add eighteen inches to my height, well, I would consider trying out for the beach volleyball team or the local basketball league. I would be able to give away my step stool and I could actually dust on top of the refrigerator. But, it’s not even a remote possibility for me. For any of us, adding eighteen inches to our height is impossible. But, according to God’s perspective, this is a “least” thing—something that is so simple to do that He can do it without any extra thought. And, He says, since we can’t do the thing that is least, we are not to worry about the “rest.” Food, clothing, provision; He’s got it all covered. If height is no problem for Him, and He clothes the grass, the flowers, the trees and the Earth, then our food and clothing won’t be a problem either. And, He feeds the ravens with good, fresh foods and he dresses the flowers in spectacular colors and beauty, so we know He will be good to us as well. It may not be designer labels, but it will be good!

Thought provoker: Are you worrying about things that God already has promised to provide for you? Rest in His provision—He’s good at it, and He can even make you taller if He wants to!

Lord, thank You that You have everything provided and covered. Thank You for Your creative genius and thank You that height is an easy thing for You too! Amen

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eighteen Inches

  1. Kim S says:

    So true, Tammy!! He is our Jehovah Jireh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

