The Lifeguard

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.” I Peter 5:8-10, NKJV

Lifeguards are pretty amazing. Not just because they have a sunny job, on the beach, protecting others from danger, but because they stay awake. I know that may sound strange, but the relaxing rhythms of the waves and the sleep-inducing warmth of the sun would make that job very difficult for me. I would have to take great effort to keep myself from listening to the waves and I would have to be sure to stay cool enough that I didn’t nod off when I was supposed to be watching for danger. When I have trouble sleeping, I listen to the sounds of the ocean, but falling asleep at the lifeguard post puts others in peril.

Christians are the lifeguards on the shores of the spiritual realm. We are supposed to be watching for the sharks that would take lives under—the enemies of our souls. We are supposed to be willing to reach out, risk our lives, and to rescue others for the kingdom. We are to be watching for the signs of spiritual storms, and are to warn others about them so they can find shelter and safety. We are to be watching the horizon for the watercraft of hypocrisy that could threaten the swimming waters of new believers and wave them off. We are to be ready at a moment’s notice to dive into the water and carry someone to the safety of the shore. But, for some of us, the rhythms of this world, the mantras of busy lives and the warmth of the wealth of this world, have lulled us to sleep at our posts. We are not watching out for the lives of others who need to be rescued, instead, we are dozing at our lifeguard stations. Is it time to wake up and do what it takes to be the guardians we should be? Yes, it is—it is far too late in the day to be asleep spiritually. Are you awake at the post God has given you?

Thought provoker: Are you dozing off at your spiritual lifeguard post? What things can you do to reawaken your passion and help you to be on guard to help others spiritually?

Lord, thank You for trusting me, as Your child, to guard this shore around my life. Help me to stay vigilant and wide awake to the others You are asking me to help and bring to the shore of Your kingdom. Please don’t let me fall asleep at this most important post! Amen.

I hope you all have a good, Godly day!!

Tammy

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lifeguard

  1. Kim S says:

    Great devotion. I was just reminding a sister in Christ this week of this verse as she struggles with deep stuff in her family (parenting). Yes, vigilence! The enemy may not have won the battle in our future, but he can paralyze us and keep us from being ineffective in so many ways daily. We have to “take captive our thoughts” many times “and turn them to the obedience of Christ.” And, praise God we have that power in Him. For most of my life, I thought I was a prisoner to my thoughts, that I could not control them. Wow, the freedom we have! Stop, regroup, think clearly on truth, move forward (out of the mud). 🙂

Leave a Reply

