Heart-Shaped Puddles

For the word of the LORD is right, and all His work is trustworthy. He loves righteousness and justice; the earth is full of the LORD’s unfailing love. The heavens were made by the word of the LORD, and all the stars, by the breath of His mouth. He gathers the waters of the sea into a heap; He puts the depths into storehouses. Let the whole earth tremble before the LORD; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him, Psalm 33:4-8, HCSB.

Ava and I were out for a walk. It had been a particularly difficult week for our family. Emotional decisions were made, friends had suffered the tragic loss of a pet, and the rain had been relentless. Finally, a break in the weather meant Ava and I could head outdoors for our morning walk.

As we walked, I noticed my mood start to change. Whispered prayers to comfort our friends and to lift our children’s spirits began to help my own heart to seek hope. Ava and I dodged puddles as we moved down the block, and as I looked ahead down the road, I noticed them. Heart-shaped rain puddles. There were three of them in a row. I smiled as I thought, “How like you, Father, to send three little reminders on the path I am walking at this moment to remind me that I am truly loved, truly treasured, and remembered, even during this time of emotional weariness.” God placed three puddles, three heart-shaped puddles in my path to remind me of His faithful love for me and my family. I turned my attention from my thoughts, and listened. I heard the birds in the trees and felt the gentle breeze. I saw flowers opening new blossoms toward the sky after the rain, and I saw rays of sunshine peeking through the clouds.

So many times God’s love is right under our noses, or right in the midst of difficult circumstances, and when we take time to notice, it lifts our spirits and gives us hope. I would have missed the heart-shaped puddles if I had not taken a moment to look up, look ahead, and see what God had put in my path. And, if I had missed the puddles, I probably would not have noticed the other blessings around me in nature. Spiritually, we need to be on the lookout for unexpected reminders of His faithful love to us, and let them bring a smile to our souls in spite of the circumstances around us. Let one blessing lead to another, and thank Him for each one—even heart-shaped puddles!

Thought-provoker: Are you in need of a moment to stop and take in all the wonderful reminders of God’s faithful love? Take the time—your soul needs it!

Lord, thank You for Your unfailing love! Thank You for the reminders You send us daily to see Your love and hope in the midst of any circumstances. You are so good! Amen.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

