The Tail Wag

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. There is reserved for me in the future the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on that day, and not only to me, but to all those who have loved His appearing, 2 Timothy 4:7-8, HCSB.

It had been a long day. I had had several appointments, errands, and interruptions, during the day and it was late when I finally trudged through the door. I had an armload of books; grocery bag hanging off both arms, and my keychain was between my teeth so my keys wouldn’t get lost. It didn’t matter. As soon as she heard the key in the door, she came running. Ava, our puppy, slid around the corner on the hardwood floor, her tail wagging a mile a minute. She kept jumping up so I could see how excited she was to see me.

I plopped my load on the kitchen floor and dropped to my knees; instant puppy kisses on my face and the swish of that tail back and forth. She crawled into my lap, wiggled and wriggled until I had pet every inch of her ears, scratched her belly and rubbed her back. The busyness and frustration of the day melted away as I was engulfed by Ava’s greeting. There was no mistaking it—she was thrilled to see me.

Our passage today says, “…those who love His appearing.” I don’t think it harms the passage to compare Ava’s reaction to my homecoming as to how we will act the day Christ returns. It’s been a long time since He’s been here, but we know He loves us, and He has promised to return. I know I do not have a tail, but I know my soul will leap with joy at His presence, and I am sure I will show a boat-load of affection for the One who died to save me, and rose again to make me His.

Sometimes, we are too dignified in our thinking. “I would never act like a silly puppy and wiggle into Jesus’ lap” we think to ourselves, “how ridiculous!” If He lets me, I cannot wait to do just that, and then spend eternity at His feet showing Him my gratitude and love for all He has done! How about you?

Thought-provoker: Are you anticipating Christ’s return, or are you too busy to give it any thought? Take some time today to anticipate His return, and thank Him that He is coming!

Lord, thank You for the promise of Your return. May I be so excited that I will not be able to sit still, but show You my praise and affection! Help me start now, so others will see and become excited too! Amen.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

