The Dress

“Strength and dignity are her clothing, And she smiles at the future,” Proverbs 31:25, NAS.

I have come to a decision:  shopping is a very difficult task, especially when it comes to ladies’ clothes. I “needed” to get a new dress for a special occasion, so my daughter and I made an afternoon “girl-time,” and went searching for a new addition to my wardrobe.
We stopped in a couple of department stores, and after three stops, I was getting discouraged. Most of the cute, stylish pieces were either too short in the skirt, or too deep in the neckline. Things were too clingy, too revealing, or just too tacky. We took a break, and stopped for something to eat.

As we waited for our food, I began to get a heart-burden—I wanted to stand up and holler, “Ladies, we do not have to settle for this!” Of course, I did not, but I did start a conversation with my daughter about self-respect, Godliness and decency. She grinned, and said, “I get it, Mom. I don’t need to wear something that draws attention in the wrong way. I’m a God’s girl, and I want to dress in ways that make Him happy.”

I am glad our tween daughter has a good grasp on modesty, and I hope and pray she “gets it” throughout her life. It is not a legalistic or superior attitude with her—it is just a confidence in Whose she is that she does not need to dress skimpy, attract the wrong kind of attention, or define herself by what she wears. Oh, that her confidence would spread throughout the Kingdom! I would love to see girls shed the world’s delusion about attraction; that they would, instead, dress with confidence. I would love to see teenage young men and women, married men and women, single guys and girls alike to show the world God’s love is the great identity that matters in this life; clothes are just the covering for the shell of the soul. We can dress with the confidence that the people we see in the mirror each morning are God’s guys and girls, that His love overflows from us, and that our style reflects His glory! A Godly confidence and integrity that shows strength and enables us to dress as soldiers of the light.

I did finally find the “perfect” dress. The last store we stopped in, my daughter found a cute tunic-style top with a knee length skirt. Not only was it a good fit, it was on sale! Just an added blessing to make sure I would dress with His confidence for that special occasion!

Thought-provoker: Are you dressing in Godly confidence? Make a choice today to dress for the Kingdom.

Lord, thank You that we are not defined by what we wear on this earth; that our true clothing is strength, dignity and Godly love. Our style is just a reflection of how we love You–help it to be what makes you happy! Amen.

 

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

