The Paint Cans, The Adventure Summer Series, Day 17

The Paint Cans

“Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you,” Philippians 3:13-15, ESV.

Working on the renovations at the house, I finally finished a gallon of paint. Hand brushing the walls takes time, but the results have been very good and I am glad I have put in the time and effort. I was so happy to see the bottom on that first can of paint. It felt great to know that I had accomplished painting several spaces on the exterior of the house and the project was coming along. I could have been proud of myself and bragged about the progress, but, when I took a moment to look in the garage, there are still four gallons of paint left on the shelf and ready to be used. There are still several sections of the exterior that are primed, but still need to be painted. The paint is waiting to go on the walls, and the project moves forward.

Those paint cans remind me of our spiritual walk. Yes, we make progress in our walk, but we do not arrive. There are still more principles, more lessons and more character traits to develop. While we can be glad about the things that we have achieved, we must set those things behind and press forward. What are we moving toward? The upward call of God. Just as I am pressing toward the goal of finishing the exterior of the house, we are to be pressing toward the goal of becoming more like Christ. We have heard “happiness is a journey, not a destination.” The spiritual walk is the same—it is a journey. It’s time for me to open another paint can and it’s time for us to keep moving up.

Thought-provoker: What things do we need to set behind us so we can keep moving forward? What is the next step we need to take to move upward?

Lord, thank You for giving us the opportunity to strive—to keep moving forward in our spiritual walk so that we are drawing closer to You as we journey. Thank You for the strength to keep on moving. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

