The Prayer

The Prayer

I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them, John 17:9-10, ESV.

It had been a discouraging day.  Physical weariness, spiritual battles, and a defeated spirit made making decisions all that much harder.  My friend had been going through a difficult time: family stress, illness and other burdens were wearing her down. When she called me, she needed someone to hear her heart, to understand her feelings and to share her burden. I listened and then, I prayed.  I asked the Lord to lift her burdens, to calm her anxious heart, to heal her body and to refresh her spirit.  I asked Him to restore relationships within her family and to heal their broken hearts.  After I had finished praying, she thanked me and I told her to call anytime. My friend knows the power of prayer and she knew I would pray with her that day (told with her permission).

In the passage today, Jesus prays for us.  He says, “I am praying for them.” He meant all of us who are now a part of His family.  He prays for us to have the strength to stand, not to be removed from this world.  He asks for us to be united and He prays for our joy and for the world to know His love.  Those are deep words, but they come from the heart of our Savior.  He wants us to know that He meant those words, and that we can be the answer to His prayer each day as we glorify Him.

Today, as you read John 17 and see the rich words that Jesus has prayed over you, take time to think about them, how to live up to them, how to spend time being who He prayed for us to be.  Savor the words. Steep yourself in His love. Know that these words are meant for you, and strive to be the answer to His prayer today.

Thought-provoker:  Do we truly understand what the Lord believes we can be–what He prayed for us to be–and are we willing to be the answer to His prayer?

Lord, thank You for praying for us! Thank You for seeing beyond what we are, and believing in what we can be.  Help us to glorify Your name, to be unified, to be demonstrations of Your love in the world around us today.  We cannot do it without You, so please be with us.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

To purchase Tammy’s books, visit http://www.amazon.com.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

