Sneak Peak #2, The Summer Adventure Series, Day 23

Okay, here it is–sneak peak #2 into Devotions from Everyday Jobs, my new book planned to be out this fall! Hope you enjoy and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow. Blessings, Tammy

The Hair Stylist

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear,” Ephesians 4:29 ESV.

She is one my best acquaintances. Even though I only see her once every six to eight weeks, I look forward to our visits. She is very well trained in her trade, and her skills help me to feel more confident and prepared as I go about doing my calling. She usually spends about an hour with me, and her perky personality and perceptive insights help to bring out the best in me. Well, at least the best in my hair–she is my hair stylist.

She does a great job of matching my hairstyle to my personality. When I decided I wanted to go short, she gave me a sleek bob. When I decided to let my hair grow long, she kept the bangs trimmed and the ends tipped so they would grow. When I was in between the short and the long styles, and frustrated by the lack of progress, she encouraged me to wait it out a little longer and not make a rash decision. I am glad she was persuasive, because eight weeks later, my hair was touching my shoulders and back in my good graces. She listens to me and asks questions about what is going on in my life. She intuitively senses if I need a change, a boost in confidence that she can provide with a new look, or if I just need a little tune-up. She can even tell if I need some “pampering”—a wash and condition along with a blow dry and style, or if I am doing well and just need a cut-and-go. When I leave her place, I feel pretty and confident and willing to take on the world. She gives me the instructions and shows me the methods I need to be able to replicate her styling when I get home. And every eight weeks, she does it again to help me feel good about my appearance.

We should be the hair stylists of the Christian realm. No, I am not asking any of you to pick up your scissors and attempt to change my look. I am referring to the confidence instilling and paying attention to the needs of others around us. We should hear the weariness in others’ voices, be perceptive of discouragement or frustration, and we should encourage them back to their confidence in Christ. Sometimes, we need to “pamper” a discouraged friend—go the extra mile, do something special, to let her know she is loved and is needed as a member of the family of God. Be a hair stylist—go restore someone’s confidence.

Thought-provoker: Are we encouraging others and restoring confidence in God in those around us?

Lord, help us to see those who are discouraged and be willing to come alongside. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About simplydevotions

author; mother; teacher; friend; runner.
This entry was posted in Author's Personal Note, Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

